The Amsterdam acquis

The Amsterdam Treaty (Treaty of Amsterdam amending the Treaty of the European Union, the Treaties establishing the European Communities and certain related acts) entered into force in May 1999. It moved most of the articles on immigration, asylum, border control and visa policy and civil law cooperation from Title VI EU to Title IV EC. It also incorporated the Schengen acquis into the EU/EC framework.

All adopted measures since the entry into force of the Amsterdam Treaty are detailed in the  legislative observatory (measures adopted prior to Amsterdam are detailed in the Maastricht archive).

 Previous article

The Trevi acquis (1)

Next article 

The Maastricht acquis


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error