European Commission: Update on state of play of external cooperation in the field of migration policy


A recent European Commission document circulated to member state delegations in the Council demonstrates the scale and scope of the EU's "external migration" initiatives, which cover countries ranging from Bangladesh to Bosnia, as well as a number of multilateral initiatives. The document includes an overview of the current level of cooperation between the EU and "partner" countries and fora, as well as lists of recent meetings and events.

Support our work: become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.

NOTE from: Commission Services to: Delegations: Update on state of play of external cooperation in the field of migration policy (Council doc. 9132/22, LIMITE, 20 May 2022, pdf)

"The European Commission adopted the New Pact on Migration and Asylum on 23 Sep-tember 2020, which contains a strong component on partnerships with third countries.

This document provides an updated overview of the main external migration dialogues and processes since 2019. The document is compiled for the information of the Working Party on the External Aspects of Asylum and Migration by the responsible European Commission and EEAS services.

This document also serves as a tool to follow-up the implementation of the European Council Conclusions (on external aspects of migration) of 16 December, 21-22 October, 24-25 June as well as the outcomes of the Jumbo Meeting of the Home Affairs and the Foreign Affairs Ministers of 15 March 2021."

The following countries are covered in the report:

  • Africa
    • Cabo Verde
    • Ethiopia
    • Mauritania
    • Niger
    • Nigeria
    • Senegal
  • Southern Mediterranean 
    • Morocco
    • Tunisia
    • Algeria
    • Egypt
    • Libya
    • Jordan
    • Lebanon
  • Western Balkans
    • Albania
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Kosovo
    • North Macedonia
    • Montenegro
    • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Asia
    • China
    • India
    • Pakistan
    • Afghanistan
    • Iran
    • Iraq
  • Eastern Partnership countries
    • Armenia
    • Azerbaijan
    • Belarus
    • Georgia
    • Moldova
    • Ukraine
  • Russia
  • USA

Regional processes:

  • The Prague Process
  • The Eastern Partnership Platforms and Panel on Migration, Mobility and Integrated Border Management (IBM)
  • The Budapest Process
  • The Africa-EU Migration and Mobility Dialogue
  • The Rabat Process
  • The Khartoum Process
  • The OACP-EU Migration Dialogue
  • The Valletta Summit follow-up
  • The EU-CELAC Migration Dialogue

Global processes:

  • Global Forum for Migration and Development
  • United Nations


Our work is only possible with your support.
Become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error