European Parliament special committee on terrorism - first meeting 14 September, list of members published

In July the European Parliament agreed to set up a special committee on terrorism that will sit for 12 months to examine "the extent of the terrorist threat on European soil" and to propose appropriate measures for the EU and the Member States "to help prevent, investigate and prosecute crimes related to terrorism."

Its first meeting will be on 14 September and its membership of 30 MEPs has now been decided, with membership dominated by the parliament's two biggest groups - there will be ten 10 MEPs on the committee from the European Peoples' Party (EPP) and eight from the Socialists & Democrats (S&D).

Alongside them will be three from the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR), three from the liberal democrats (ALDE), two from the left/Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) and two from the Greens (Verts/ALE).

There will be one member each from the right-wing Eurosceptic group Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD group and the far-right Europe of Nations and Freedoms (ENF).

See: Special Committee on Terrorism - Full members (12 September 2017, pdf)

Background: Special committee to tackle deficiencies in the fight against terrorism (EP press release, link)

And: the decision setting up the committee (pdf)


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error