EU: Council of the European Union: Summary of conclusions of the meeting of the JHA-RELEX Working Party (JAIEX) on 17 February 2012

Support our work: become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.

See document 6758/12 (pdf)


1) SELEC-Europol cooperation - see: Draft Council conclusions on cooperation between Europol and the SECI Center/SELEC (pdf): Signatory Member States: Republic of Albania, Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of Bulgaria, Republic of Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Hellenic Republic, Republic of Hungary, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Slovenia and Republic of Turkey.

Permanent Observers to the SECI Center: States: Austria, Azerbaidjan, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States of America.

See: SELEC website.

And see: Historical document from 2004: Assessment of the SECI Regional Centre for combating trans-border crime: Bucharest (233 pages, pdf): "USA provided financial support to SECI Center through various projects, and specified the beneficiary countries from SECI Center to enjoy US support in financial means."

2) USA comments on the EU's proposed revision of the 1995 Data Protection Directive: "the US expressed serious concerns about the new proposals for a data protection Regulation and a Directive (which had at the time of the meeting not been tabled). The US stated that these proposals might be an obstacle to fruitful law enforcement cooperation"

Our work is only possible with your support.
Become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error