Statewatch News Online: European Commission - new Commissioners

Support our work: become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


New Commissioners

Austria: Benita Ferrero Waldner
External Relations and Neighbourhood Policy

Belgium: Louis Michel
Development and Humanitarian Aid

Cyprus Markos Kyprianou
Health and Consumer Protection

Czech Republic: Vladimir Spidla
Employment and Social Affairs

Denmark: Mariann Fischer Boel

Estonia: Siim Kallas
Administrative Affairs (Vice-president)

Finland: Olli Rehn

France: Jacques Barrot
Transport (Vice-president)

Germany: Günter Verheugen
Industry (Vice-president)

Greece: Stavros Dimas

Hungary: Laszlo Kovacs

Ireland: Charlie McCreevy
Internal Market

Italy: Rocco Buttiglione
Justice, Freedom and Security (Vice-president)

Latvia: Ingrida Udre
Taxation and Customs Union

Lithuania: Dalia Grybauskaite

Luxembourg: Viviane Reding
Information Society

Malta: Joe Borg
Fisheries and Maritime Affairs

The Netherlands: Neelie Kroes

Poland: Danuta Hübner
Regional Policy

Portugal: José Manuel Durão Barroso
European Commission President

Slovakia: Jan Figel
Education, Training and Culture

Slovenia: Janez Potconik
Science and Research

Spain: Joaquin Almunia
Economic and Monetary Affairs

Sweden: Margot Wallström
Institutional Relations, Communications Strategy (Vice-president)

United Kingdom: Peter Mandelson

Statewatch News online | Join Statewatch news e-mail list | Download a free sample issue of Statewatch bulletin

Statewatch does not have a corporate view, nor does it seek to create one, the views expressed are those of the author.
Statewatch is not responsible for the content of external websites and inclusion of a link does not constitute an endorsement.

Our work is only possible with your support.
Become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error