EU: Sri Lanka readmission agreement

Support our work: become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.

EU: Sri Lanka readmission agreement

Statewatch has published the full-text of the readmission agreement between the EU and Sri-Lanka (see below). The Council of the EU has refused to release the text. Aid and trade agreements with the Third World are now dependent on countries accepting taking back their nationals, and potentially other undocumented migrants from the region. In the first wave of readmission target countries the EU adopted “negotiating mandates for readmission agreements” with: Hong Kong, Pakistan, Russia, Morocco, Sri Lanka and Ukraine. The agreement with Hong Kong was the first to be signed on 27 November 2002. The Sri Lanka agreement awaits formal signature. (Source: Road Map for the follow-up to the conclusions of the European Summit in Seville, doc no 6023/02, 4.12.03.)

A unpublished copy of the Sri Lanka readmission agreement has been obtained by Statewatch - full-text:

1. Sri Lanka agreement (Word)
2. Sri Lanka agreement (pdf)
3. Background analysis: On readmission and repatriation from Statewatch bulletin

Statewatch News online | Join Statewatch news e-mail list | Statewatch websites

Our work is only possible with your support.
Become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error