Political composition of the new European Parliament 2004-2009

It been announced at the plenary session of the new European Parliament meeting in Strasbourg (20 July) that there are the following political groups:

Situation as at: 20.07.2004: number of MEPs in each group:

EPP-ED             Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats) and European Democrats: 268
                           Leader of the group: Hans-Gert Poettering (EPP-ED, DE)

PES                   Socialist Group in the European Parliament: 200
                          Leader of the group: Martin Schulz (PES, DE)

ALDE            Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe: 88
                          Leader of the group: Graham Watson (ELDR, UK)

GREENS/EFA Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance: 42
                          Leader of the group: Monica Frassoni (Greens/EFA, IT)

EUL/NGL:        Confederal Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left: 41
                          Leader of the group: Francis Wurtz (EUL/NGL, FR)

IND/DEM:        Independence and Democracy Group: 37

UEN:                Union for Europe of the Nations Group: 27
                         Leader of the group: Cristiana Muscardini (UEN, IT)

NI: Non-attached Members: 29

Total:                732

Socialist group MEP Josep Borrell Fontelles (Spain) was elected President of the parilament.The European People’s Party (EPP), consservatives, backed the Spanish MEP on what is called a “technical agreement”. Borrell will hold the post for the first half of the five-year presidency term, then hand over to EPP group leader Hans-Gert Pöttering in mid-2006.

Statewatch News online | Join Statewatch news e-mail list | Download a free sample issue of Statewatch bulletin

Statewatch does not have a corporate view, nor does it seek to create one, the views expressed are those of the author.
Statewatch is not responsible for the content of external websites and inclusion of a link does not constitute an endorsement.