Finland halts deportations to Afghanistan after U.S. troops leave


The Finnish government has responded to the rapidly-deteriorating security situation in Afghanistan by temporarily halting deportations - something that the Afghan government has requested of all European states.

Support our work: become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.

"Finland halts deportations to Afghanistan after U.S. troops leave

Finland will temporarily halt deportations to Afghanistan because of potential instability there following the withdrawal of U.S. and other foreign troops, its immigration service said on Monday.

Jaakko Purontie, head of the immigration service’s legal department, told Reuters no time frame had been set for the suspension of deportations.

“For the time being, we do not make decisions that lead to a deportation to Afghanistan,” Purontie said, citing the immigration service’s view that the situation in Afghanistan is unclear and unstable.

“We cannot say what the situation for a person returning to a certain area would be.”

After the United States withdrew troops from the country after 20 years of war, ground offensives by Taliban insurgents have given the group control of more territory in Afghanistan than at any time since the conflict began.

Purontie said the policy change will only affect people who would otherwise be deported back to Afghanistan."

Source: ATN News, 13 July 2021

According to the Afghanistan Migrants Advice & Support Organisation, a letter from the Afghanistan Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation was sent to "the European mission in Afghanistan" to request:

"...all the European countries that deport Afghans to temporarily halt deportation to Afghanistan due to the growing violence and deteriorating security situation in the country.

This includes all the countries like Germany that deports under the JDMC, or those that deport under other tripartite or bilateral agreements. The European countries that are requested to halt deportation are Germany, Norway, Holland, France, Finland, Denmark, Switzerland, Austria and the UK.MORR has requested to stop deportation from 8th of July and has requested MOFA to inform the European mission and all the countries listed above about MORR’s decision."


Our work is only possible with your support.
Become a Friend of Statewatch from as little as £1/€1 per month.


Spotted an error? If you've spotted a problem with this page, just click once to let us know.

Report error