Statewatching the new Europe 2001
international conference on the state, civil liberties and secrecy: Book a place at conference

Founded in 1991, Statewatch is an independent group of researchers, academics, journalists, lawyers and community activists. Working on a broad range of civil liberties issues, Statewatch has gained a reputationfor accuracy and originality. Ten years since Statewatch was formed and seven years since the groundbreaking "Statewatching the new Europe" conference raised concerns about the emerging European state, Statewatch is bringing together speakers from across Europe to explore the links between the state and its agencies in the context of globalisation. The conference will look at decision-making structures, new technologies of control, migration and racism, secrecy and accountability. The conference agenda and admission ticket will be mailed out from 1 June onwards.

Saturday, 30 June 2001, University of London Students Union, Malet Street, London


Professor Thomas Mathiesen, Oslo University, Norway
A Sivanandan, editor of "Race and Class"
Heidi Hautala MEP, Co-President of the Green/EFA group in the European Parliament
Professor Didier Bigo, Culture & Conflits, Paris, France
Gareth Peirce, lawyer
Aidan White, European Federation of Journalists
Simon Davies, Privacy International
Steve Wright, OMEGA Foundation
Frances Webber, lawyer
Nadine Finch, lawyer
Steve Peers, Human Rights Centre, Essex University
Professor Paddy Hillyard, University of Ulster, Belfast
Professor Joe Sim, John Moores University, Liverpool
Mike Tomlinson, Queens University, Belfast
Professor Phil Scraton, Edge Hill University College, Ormskirk
Christian Busold, lawyer, Germany
Glyn Ford MEP
Dr Heiner Busch, CILIP, Berlin, Germany
Maurice Frankel, Campaign for Freedom of Information
Norbet Pütter, CILIP, Germany
Professor Lee Bridges, Warwick University
Elspeth Guild, Immigration Law Practitioners Association (ILPA)
Liz Fekete (Institute of Race Relations, IRR)
Courtenay Griffiths QC, lawyer
Andrew Puddephatt (Article 19)
John Wadham (Liberty)
Neil Gerrard MP
Professor Lode van Outrive (Belgium)
Richard Norton-Taylor (Guardian)
Stephen Jakobi (Fair Trials Abroad)
Suresh Grover (National Civil Rights Movement)
Kees Kalkman (AMOK, Netherlands)
Tony Bunyan (editor "Statewatch")
Hilary Wainwright (editor "Red Pepper")
Graham Watson MEP (Chair of the Citizens' Freedoms and Rights Committee, European Parliament)
Professor Deirdre Curtin (Utrecht University)
Ian Macdonald QC, President of the Immigration Law Practitioners Association (ILPA)

There will be two Panels of speakers and Workshops on:

m National security, surveillance of telecommunications, NATO and EU
m Racism in the EU
m Immigration and asylum in the UK & EU
Civil liberties in Britain and Northern Ireland
Policing, Schengen, EU databases and legal cooperation
Freedom of information - access to documents

"10 years of Statewatch 1991-2001"
Registration form: Book a place at the conference