

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 17 May 2018 (OR. en)

Interinstitutional File: 2016/0224 (COD) 8735/18 COR 1

LIMITE

ASILE 22 CODEC 723

NOTE

From:	Presidency	
On:	17 May 2018	
То:	Strategic Committee on Immigration, Frontiers and Asylum	
Subject:	Reform of the Common European Asylum System	
	- The safe countries concept	
	= Policy debate	

On page 4, the first paragraph of document 8735/18 INIT should read as follows:

" Following the conclusions of the JHA Council meeting on 20 July 2015, at which Member States agreed that priority should be given to an assessment by all Member States of the safety of the Western Balkans, the EASO organised an expert-level meeting with the Member States on 2 September 2015, where a broad consensus was reached that Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo^{*}, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia should be considered safe countries of origin (recital 53 of the Commission proposal for an Asylum Procedure Regulation)."

DGD1

^{*} This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.