



COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION Brussels, 9 July 2009

12064/09

PE 218

INFORMATION NOTE

from:	General Secretariat of the Council
to:	Delegations
Subject:	Formation of political groups after the European elections 2009

INFORMATION NOTE FORMATION OF POLITICAL GROUPS AFTER THE EUROPEAN ELECTIONS

Rule 30 of the Rules of Procedures of the European Parliament for the 7th parliamentary term stipulates that a political group shall comprise Members elected in at least one-quarter of the Member States and the minimum number of Members required to form a political group shall be twenty-five. The Constitutive Plenary session of the European Parliament will take place on 14-16 July, 2009.

7 political groups have been constituted.

Group of the European People's Party in the European Parliament (EPP)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 265 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 288

During the constitutive meeting of the EPP on 23 June 2009 Joseph DAUL (FR) was re-elected as the President of the group by 225 votes in favour, 3 against and 11 abstentions (98,7%).

The following vice-presidents were elected:

- Jaime MAYOR OREJA (ES)
- Corien WORTMANN-KOOL (NL)

- József SZÁJER (HU)
- Manfred WEBER (DE)
- Vito BONSIGNORE (IT)
- Othmar KARAS (AT)
- Rumiana JELEVA (BG)
- Paulo RANGEL (PT)
- Marian Jean MARINESCU (RO)
- Ioannis KASOULIDES (CY)

Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (PASD (ex-PES))

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 184 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 215 (ex-PES)

After 21 Members of the Italian *Partito Democratico* joined, the former PES-group was reconstituted as "Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament" (PASD), now with 184 Members.

During the constitutive meeting of the PASD on 23 June, Martin SCHULZ (DE) was re-elected as the President of the Group with 144 out of 163 votes (88,3 %). 11 Members abstained, 5 voted against and 3 ballots were not valid.

The following vice-presidents were elected:

- Stephen HUGHES (UK) Economic affairs and social policy
- Maria BADIA I CUTCHET (ES) Communication policy and public relations
- Adrian SEVERIN (RO) External policy and defence
- Stéphane LE FOLL (FR) Budget and territorial cohesion
- Véronique DE KEYSER (BE) Human rights, development and international trade
- Marita ULVSKROG (SE) Sustainable development and competition
- Hannes SWOBODA (AT) Parliamentary Affairs and relations with international organisations
- Monika BENOVA (SK) Europe of citizens
- Giancarlo SUSTA (IT) Agriculture and Fisheries

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 84 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 100

During its constitutive meeting on 30 June 2009 ALDE Group elected Guy VERHOFSTADT (BE) as the group's new President.

The following vice-presidents were elected:

- Anneli JÄÄTTEENMÄKI (FI)
- Alexander LAMBSDORFF (DE)
- Meglena KUNEVA (BG)
- Niccolo RINALDi (IT)
- Adina VALEAN (RO)

European Conservatives and Reformists in the European Parliament (ECR)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 55

The creation of the new European Conservatives and Reformist Group in the European Parliament was officially announced on 22 June 2009. It comprises 55 Members¹ coming from 8 Member States.

On 24 June 2009, the group held its inaugural meeting in which Timothy KIRKHOPE (UK) was named interim leader. The vote on the leader is planned to be held on 15 July 2009.

The Greens -European Free Alliance in the European Parliament (Greens/EFA)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 54 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 43

During the Greens/EFA constitutive meeting on 23 June, 2009 Daniel COHN-BENDIT (FR) was re-elected as co-president (42 votes in favour and 1 abstention) together with Rebecca HARMS (DE) with the same score.

The following vice-presidents were elected:

- Jill EVANS, first vice-president (president ALE) (UK)
- Reinhard BÜTIKOFER (DE)
- Marije CORNELISSEN (NL)
- Eva LICHTENBERGE (AT)
- Raùl ROMEVA (ES)
- Claude TURMES (LU)
- Emilie TURUNEN (DK)

¹ Members of the ECR Group are the following:

- United Kingdom: the Conservative Party, 26 MEPs
- Poland: Law & Justice (PiS), 15 MEPs
- Czech Republic: Civic Democratic Party (ODS), 9 MEPs
- Belgium: Lijst Dedecker (LDD), 1 MEP
- Hungary: Hungarian Democratic Forum (MDF), 1 MEP
- Latvia: Latvian National Independence Movement, (TB/LNNK), 1 MEP
- Lithuania: Lithuanian Poles' Electoral Action, 1 MEP
- The Netherlands: ChristianUnion (ChristenUnie), 1 MEP

European United Left -Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 35 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 40

On its constitutive meeting of 24 June, 2009, Mr Lothar BISKY (DE) was elected unanimously as president of the group (being the only candidate for this post).

The following vice-presidents were elected:

- Ilda FIGUEIREDO (PPT)
- Takis HATZI GEORGIOU (CY)
- Kartika LIOTARD (NL)
- Miloslav RANSDORF (CZ)
- Eva-Britt SVENSSON (SE)

Europe of Freedom and Democracy Group (EFD)

Number of MEPs 2009-2014: 30 Number of MEPs 2004-2009: 22 (IND/DEM)

During the constitutive meeting of the group¹ Nigel FARAGE (UK), the *UKIP* leader, was elected as co-president of the group together with Francesco SPERONI (IT) (*Lega Nord*).

Non - Attached

The number of non-attached Members will depend in particular on the capacity of the ECR and EFD groups to attract Members.

¹ The group will comprise the following members :

- United Kingdom: UKIP, 13 MEPs
- Italy: Lega Nord, 9 MEPs
- Denmark: Dansk Folkeparti, 2 MEPs
- Greece: *LAOS*, 2 MEPs
- Finland: *True Finns*, 1 MEP
- France: Libertas (Mouvement pour la France), 1 MEP
- Netherlands: *Staatkundig Gereformeerde Partij*, 1 MEP