Appeal to the Members of the European Parliament

13/06/2008

Appeal to the Members of the European Parliament:

During the next plenary session in Strasbourg (16-19 June), members of the European Parliament are being asked to vote on the so-called "Return Directive".

The text has already been adopted by EU Interior Ministers and includes an administrative detention period for irregular migrants of up to 18 months. This is a completely exaggerated measure which establishes the basis for the real criminalisation of migrants, who will be deprived of their freedom and detained in inhumane and improperly-run structures, without having committed any crime.

Furthermore, the directive foresees the possibility to detain and expel unaccompanied minors, to return migrants to transit countries, different from their home countries, plus the possibility of enforcing a re-entry ban valid for the whole of Europe for up to 5 years.

Many procedural guarantees and legal benefits for migrants wishing to appeal against a return decision have disappeared from the final text, therefore also endangering the rights of those migrants who could lawfully claim refugee protection status.

Because this directive lowers European and international human rights' protection standards by worsening migrants' reception conditions,

Because what is at stake is not only EU migration policies but also our social model,

Because the law must be equal for all and because fundamental freedoms are not negotiable,

We call on members of the European Parliament not to adopt this directive:

Undersign:

The appeal has been promoted and signed by: **Italian**, Moni Ovadia (actor, writer), Margherita Hack (astrophysicist), Danilo Zolo (jurist and philosopher), Wilma Labate (film director); **Belgian**, Luc and Jean Pierre

Dardenne (film directors); Georges-Henry Beauthier (lawyer, ex President of the League for Human Rights), Carine Russo (Senator, inspirer of the movement Le Marches Blanches), Eric Toussaint (Professor and President of the Committee for the cancellation of public debit for Third-World Countries), Pierre Mertens (writer); Dan Van Raemdonck Honourable President l'Association européenne pour la défense des droits de l'Homme (AEDH), Vice-président de la Fédération International des Droits de l'Homme (FIDH), François Houtart, professeur émérite de l'Université catholique de Louvainla-Neuve: Clothilde Nyssens (belgian national MP) Spanish, Marcelino Camacho (tradeunionist), Rosa Regàs (writer and ex director of Spanish National Library), Pilar Bardem (actress), Jaume d'Urgell (journalist, director of democracia.es); French, Susan Giorge (economist and actress) and Toure Kund (band); Philippe Diaz (film maker); Greeks, Michalis Grigoriou (architect and professor at Ionian University), Dimitrios Halastis (artist), Tasos Koronaris (Greek Social Forum), Yannis Kakoulides (writer), Nadia Valavani (writer, economist(, Jina Politi (professor emeritus - Aristotele University), Georgios Makris (actor, screenwriter); Portuguese, Jorge Silva Melo (movie director, actor and writer) and Luis Moita (vice-rector of the Autonomous University of Lisbon); German, Albert Scherr (professor, comittee for base rights and democracy); Morus Markard (Professor Free University of Berlin). Birgit Mahnkopf (professor Berlin School of Economics), Elmar Alvater (professor Free University of Berlin), Martin Singe (comittee for base rights and democracy), Friederike Habermann (writer).